top of page
stateoftheartsoxford

Later

I wear the season as a skin and know that I’m inhabited

by myself and a growth, or some feeling of growth. 

I write poems for myself, read them, write them over again.


I listen to carefully selected songs on repeat.

Summer passes like ginger ale, which I’ve never tasted,

ice-cube after ice-cube melts against my stomach and slides.


I tell everyone that I am resting. I hate resting and want it taught me.

Going to the sea is something; a kingdom’s worth of seaweed -

foot after foot running across the sand - all I’d ever learnt.


When I talk to friends, I feel like doing it on an old telephone,

so I can twirl out the cord and touch the distance between us.

I keep displacing things but they find their way back again.


Later, I am lying on my bed at the thrown-across angle

of the heat, and I am thinking some familiar thought

which requires little effort, feeling my skin grow so quick it splits.


Maya Little

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I could see the same tree

I thought I could see the same trees From my window. The window was an outlet and glassy, Where the cooing was a cuckoo was an owl....

Comments


bottom of page