top of page
stateoftheartsoxford

I could see the same tree

I thought I could see the same trees

From my window.

The window was an outlet and glassy,

Where the cooing was a cuckoo was an owl.

[gentle breathing sounds]

They weren’t.



I sigh

Back to

[wyt ti’n siarad Cymraeg?]

Echoes creased like cats’ ears

Of waiting by the gate

Spittle blown bubbles

The reverend round O my lips,

Breathing level to the latch.



I loved those elms.



What’s that feeling,

Fictive winged thing

Alighting on my chest,

Not relating to or consisting of but while

Coruscations trace

The skin’s cross-hatches?

[were they elms?]



The poetry in sound,

And so, imago:

Tongues,

Tween teeth,

Frictive hints

Of the most sighing colours

Blocking the air,

Shan’t be (dynani ni) done.

Osian Williams

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Later

I wear the season as a skin and know that I’m inhabited by myself and a growth, or some feeling of growth. I write poems for myself, read...

Comentários


bottom of page